PIFA Women off to a roaring start in the WIFA Women’s Championship


PIFA Sports Women’s team kicked off their season of the WIFA Women’s Championship 2018 being held at the Cooperage Stadium, with an astounding 11-0 win over Bombay Gymkhana. The winner of this tournament will qualify for the AIFF Indian Women’s League 2018-19 from Maharashtra.

Ten teams from Maharashtra are participating in this tournament. PIFA is drawn in Group A alongside Future Stars, Bombay Gymkhana, FC Mumbaikars & UPSA-Pune while Group B consists of Kenkre SC, Football Leaders Academy, Bodyline SC, FC Kolhapur City & Football School of India.

Earlier in the month, PIFA announced their Women’s Team for the season.

Afshan Ashiq, Ambika Dange, Ananya Thakur, Anjali Barke, Darshna Sanas, Deepika Masurkar, Florian Pereira, Hiba Faquih, Isha Tripathi, Kashmira Pednekar, Muriel Adam, Namrata Thakur, Neelu Tirky, Nikita Jadhav, Nitu Mazumdar, Pratima Mukhia, Priya Tamang, Priyanka Khawas, Radhika Ganega, Rani Bhowmick, Sanam Rathod, Sibani Sharma, Signorina Thapa, Sushmita Lepcha & Tripti Deep.

They are coached by Nirvan Shah (UEFA B) & assisted by Neel Shah (AFC C).

The women’s team is currently playing the Bandra West Football Association (BWFA) organised women’s League in which they have reached the semifinal having played a goalless match against Bodyline SC, beat India Rush Academy 3-0 & Soccer United 4-0 in the group stage. In the quarterfinals, they beat Somaiya Sports 7-0.

This team will also play the MDFA Women’s League due to kick off in December.

Also Read: AFC U19 Womens Championship qualifiers: India maul Pakistan 18-0

Also Read: India set to face Jordan for the first time ever in FIFA Friendly

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for more updated on Mumbai & Indian Football 

IDBI Bank to hold trials for a central defender

After successfully conducting their first round of trials on 21st November, MDFA Super Division outfit are now looking to conduct another trial in search of Central Defenders. With football resuming,…


Chedda Nagar FC set to conduct trials for MDFA Super Division

Chedda Nagar Football Fanatics will be conducting trials to reform their MDFA Super Division squad. Being established in 2011, Chedda Nagar is a renowned name in Mumbai football. The team…


IDBI Bank to host trials for MDFA Super Division

With football resuming, IDBI Bank will be conducting trials for the upcoming MDFA Season. The team will participate in the Super Division and will be seen conducting their first round…


Madanpura FA, Sara FA to host trials for the upcoming MDFA season

Sara Football Academy and Madanpura FA to host trials for MDFA Super division & 2nd division and 3rd division respectively on the 19th and 21st of November simultaneously. Sara FA…


FC Hydra to hold trials for women footballers in Bengaluru

FC Hydra will be holding trials for women footballers for the upcoming BDFA A division Women’s league. The club is based out of Bengaluru. FC Hydra will be holding trials…


NLWS FC to hold trials for MDFA 3rd division

NLWS FC is club based in Dadar who have registered themselves in the MDFA 3rd division for the 2020-21 season. The club will be holding trials for the same. Mauli…


The Oranje FC to host trials for MDFA Elite Division

The Oranje FC will be hosting trials for the upcoming MDFA 2020-21 season this November. The club will be participating in the MDFA Elite division this season. Established in 2017,…


Sporting Options FC to hold trials for MDFA 2nd Division

Sporting Options Football Club will be hosting trials for the upcoming 2020-21 football season. The team is currently playing in the MDFA 2nd division. Sporting Options FC was established in…


MDFA 1st Division side Madanpura Sports Club soon to host trials

With football gradually returning, Mumbai based Madanpura Sports Club are slated to conduct trials for the upcoming season. Madanpura Sports Club is the Junior team of Bombay Muslims SC, who…


Feugo Tormento FC to host trials for MDFA 1st Division

Newly promoted Feugo Tormento FC are set to revamp their squad for the 2020-21 MDFA 1st Division tournament. After a rampant past season, Feugo Tormento was promoted to the 1st…