I.C.L Payyde S.C. lift MDFA first division trophy

Failure to convert penalties cost Atlanta FC the title as ICL Payyde converted their three strikes to lift the trophy after a 1-1 draw in full time.

I.C.L Payyde S.C. lift MDFA first division trophy

Atlanta FC’s unbeaten streak throughout the season came to a disappointing end as ICL Payyde edged the Atlanta via penalties in the most important game of the season – 1st division play-off finals, to lift the trophy. Despite the result both sides have already confirmed their promotion to the Super Division.

Nico Gonsalves strike around the half hour mark had sent ICL Payyde in to the lead at half time, however Karan Prajapati 2nd half strike levelled things up as the game ended at 1-1 draw after the end of normal time.

In the tie breaker, Atlanta FC failed to convert their chances as Roystein Veigas, Juventus D’mello and Riane D’souza failed to hit the net with only Aashish Chavan’s attempt striking the net. At the other end, Prateek Thakur, Prasad Adka and Dhrumil Kakkad hit the net as ICL Payyde made it 3 goals in 3 attempts to end the tie-breaker at 3-1 score line.

Full Time: I.C.L Payyde S.C. 1 (Nico Gonsalves 30’) – 1 Atlanta FC (Karan Prajapati)

Tie Breaker: I.C.L. Payyde (1) 3 (Prateek Thakur, Prasad Adka and Dhrumil Kakkad) – 1 (1) Atlanta FC (Aashish Chavan)

Also Read: JMJ Sports Club edge Mother Teresa to be crowned MDFA 2nd Division champions

Also Read: Women’s Inter-District: Mumbai and Pune win big

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for more updated on Indian Football