Indian Navy lift the Independence Cup for the second successive year

Independence Day, as we all know, carries special importance and feelings to all of us Indians but when it comes to the Defence System of our country such importance and feelings towards the nation only multiplies. ‘Independence Cup’ on the occasion of Independence Day is a Nine-A-Side football tournament organised by Mumbai District Football Association (MDFA) for Elite and Super Division teams of Mumbai and promoted by HDFC Bank and Mumbai School Sports Association (MSSA). MDFA runs the football league in Mumbai and its suburb, MSSA is responsible for all the school sports in our city.

At St. Xavier’s ground Parel on Friday, Indian Navy won the Independence Cup for the second successive year. The all-important winning goal scored by Sabaria Britto in second half was enough to claim the title.

Indpendence Cup Champion Indian Navy

Indpendence Cup Champion Indian Navy

Western Railway continued their failure as it was their 6th defeat in an Independence Cup final which means they are now 6 times Runners up of the Independence Cup. The story would have been different if Reuben D’Souza one of their high profile strikers could convert his two goal scoring opportunities. The first was a brilliant shot from the top of the box that was saved by Navy goalkeeper Bhaskar Roy, later in the second half an in-form Ravikant Naidu manage to beat a Navy defender on the left flank and cross towards Reuben to head the ball into goal, he did but Bhaskar guarded his posts with all his might denying him another glorious opportunity to seal the game.

The journey wasn’t easy for Indian Navy, as they had a very tough opponent in the semi-final in the form of MDFA Elite Div. champions Air India. But Riyad B. made it look a simple victory by striking a half volley awesomely. Later Pawandeep Singh joined him in the Navy celebrations as he scored the second goal of the match. In the quarter finals they beat PIFA Colaba by 2 goals. Raman Rai and Pawandeep Singh both were the scorer for the sailors. In the other semi final Western Railway beat Mumbai Customs 5-4 in the tie breaker.

Air India sealed the third place by a solitary goal in their encounter against Mumbai Customs in the hard-lines match. It was Vijit Shetty who did well in the match but Mumbai Customs were undone by an own goal scored by their defender.

See them in action

Click here for more Image

Ashirwad and Linekar machado

Mumbai Custom’s Ashirwad Hegde and Western Railway’s Linekar Machado


Western Railway’s Avinash D.

Linekar Machado

Western Railway’s Linekar Machado

Francisco Dominic

Francisco Dominic of Kenkre FC

Rahul Thakur

Rahul Thakur of Kenkre FC

Siddharth and Rahul Thankur

Kenkre FC’s Rahul Thankur abnd Air India’s Sagal Chille

Santhosh Koli

Air India’s Santhosh Koli

Aneesh and Akash Kamble

Akash Kamble from Indian Navy and Air India’s Aneesh fighting for the ball

Siddharth and Raman Rai

Air India’s Siddharth and Indian Navy’s Raman Rai

Raman Rai

Indian navy player Raman Rai

More Image

Opportunity to make the team: U.K.M. Kothrud FC conducts selection trials for girls team

Pune-based U.K.M. Kothrud FC has announced that they will be conducting selection trials for their girl’s team on 15th January 2023 The club welcomes all players to come and showcase…


The Sunday Football League Season 4 is back

The Sunday Football League is back with its fourth season, and it’s shaping up to be the best one yet. With eight talented teams competing at the Kes Kandivali turf, there…


BFC Soccer Schools Elite team trials in Feb

Bengaluru FC launched their Mumbai program last season with the Soccer Schools and Elite programs with its local partner Soccer Schools of Excellence (SSE).  Bengaluru Football Club is a professional club…


India Khelo Football Season 2 Trials in Mumbai: A Chance to Kickstart Your Football Career

After conducting trials in 34 cities & villages across India, India Khelo Football is coming to Mumbai to hunt talent on 7th January. India Khelo Football kickstarted its season 2…


Mumbai Customs to conduct trials for Elite League

Former champions Mumbai Customs will be holding open trials for the upcoming MFA Elite Corporate League (Elite Division) The 2019 MFA Elite Division champions Mumbai Customs are conducting open trials…


Sunday Boys to hold trials for MFA 1st Division

MFA 1st division side Sunday Boys FC will be conducting trials in the first week of November for the upcoming football season Sunday Boys Football Club was established in the…


Millat FC to hold trials for MFA Elite Premier League

Millat FC – a club plying their trade in MFA Elite Division will be conducting open trials for their upcoming 2022-23 season Last season Millat had a decent run in…


MFA Elite Division club KSA to conduct trials for the upcoming season

Karnataka Sporting Association (KSA) – a club plying their trade in MFA Elite Division will be conducting open trials for their upcoming 2022-23 season Last season KSA had an amazing…


Young Guns Football Acadmey to conduct trials for their upcoming MFA 3rd Division Campaign

MFA 3rd Division club Young Guns Football Academy will be conducting open trials on October 9th for their upcoming season in Mumbai Football Young Guns Football Academy was founded in…


OSCAR SSE to conduct trials for Youth I League and YPL team in the U13 category in Mumbai

Mumbai-based OSCAR SSE will conduct trials for their Youth I League and YPL team on 16th and 17th July 2022 at Wings Sports Centre ground. Oscar SSE is a 2-star…