Bombastic Rockies win The Starburst Football Tournament

The Starburst Football Tournament is a competitive tournament conducted between reputed clubs. The first tournament under this name was conducted by Anas Shaikh in March 2012 at Supari Talao, Bandra (W), when he was only 13-years-old with his primary objective being able to conduct the tournament to provide a competitive environment for footballers to further test and hone their football skills while also promoting interactions between clubs, thereby providing an additional platform to further enhancing the quality of footballers in Mumbai. On the same line Starburst keeps the momentum going on.


The tournament in its latest format was the idea of 3 teenagers— Anas Shaikh, Ishaan Rizvi, and Dhairen Tohliani—with the aim to provide the best possible environment to play football and to eventually be able to contribute to changing face of football in Mumbai. The tournament was held on the 23rd & 24th August, 2014, at the New Footbrawl Turf, Lions Municipal Sports Complex, Near Milan Subway, Santacruz (W).

It was a two day event, 5 a side, full of excitement, 30 teams, healthy rivalry among local teams, artificial football turf were all the key elements of The Starburst Football tournament. The urgency level to score a goal as soon as you can brings the excitement in such 5 a side football tournament, within 20 minutes of play you have to prove that you are better than your opponent to advance further in next round. Reuben Dass, manager of Bombastic Rockies bought enough talent in his team to outplay the other teams . And his side kept up to their level, as Bombastic won “The Starburst Football Tournament” after beating Uk United by a solitary goal in the final.

The tournament was highly successful as more than 30 teams had participated from all over Mumbai and 1 from Lonavala. The sprit and the hungriness to score goals and won matches keeps the engagement intact. Following are the teams included – Bombastic, UK United, IKON FC, Millat FC, Anonymous FC, Rizvi Ceramics, Falcon Brothers FC, Kalina Village Club, Red Phoenix, D’Boys, Ball Busters, Mean Machine, Macabi, Gopal Seasiders, Outsiders, SMRC, Campos Boys, Manori United FC, Lonavala FC, Hard Rock Café, Mackenzie, Rising Boys, Khar Genesis, Minione Warriors, Avey Maria, Pioneer FC, Zig Zag Boys, Hinduja FC, Cantonians, and Weekenders.

Below are a few highlights of the tournament:

Quarter finals:
Rising Boys vs Millat FC (Score: 2:3 penalties)
Bombastic vs Ball Busters (Score: 4:1)
Mean Machine vs Rizvi Ceramics (Score: 3:0)
UK United vs IKON FC (Score: 3:1)

Mean Machine vs Bombastic (Score: 3:1 ).
UK United vs Millat FC (Score: 0:0 at FT and 4:3 after 6 penalties).

Bombastic vs UK United 1:0
Winners : Bombastic, with the cash price of Rs. 20000
Runners-Up : UK United, with the cash price of Rs. 10000