Central Railway emerge champions of Shri Vishwanath Anchan memorial veterans football tournament

The 2nd edition of Vishwanath Anchan memorial veteran’s football tournament saw Central Railway outplay Bandra Packers in the final to lift the trophy

Central Railway veterans turned-back time to showcase once again why they were one of the best sides of early 2000 Mumbai football when they defeated Bandra Packers 3-0 to lift the 2nd Late Shri Vishwanath Anchan Memorial Veterans’ Football Tournament.

An early penalty in the 18th minute set the tone for the game as Kasif Jamal converted the spot-kick perfectly to give Central Railway the lead. Bandra Packers, one of the few long serving local football clubs, tried to pull things back however failed to break a resolute defence.

With minutes left for full time whistle, Central midfielder Arif Ansari capitalised on a defensive lapse to make a solo run and slot home the second of the evening. The game was not over yet as deep into injury time, Amar Pardesi made in 3-0 with a simple tap in from close to put the game into bed for good.

FT: Central Railway (Kasif Jsmal 18’, Arif Ansari 48’, Amar Pardesi 50+1’) 3 – 0 Bandra Packers

In the 3rd place play-off, Karnatak Sporting Association defeated Maharaja (Air India) 1-0 in the finish the tournament at third place. Melwyn Vaz scored the lone goal late at the end of first half to put K.S.A into lead.

FT: Karnatak Sporting Association (Melwyn Vaz) 1 – 0 Maharaja (Air India)

A special award was presented to Maharaja’s Santan D’Souza, who was the senior most player to participate in the tournament.

Individual awards –

Best goalkeeper: Shyam Sawant (Maharaja, Air India)

Best defender: Tabarez Sayyed (Central Railway)

Best Midfielder: Savio Rodrigues (Bandra Packers)

Best forward: Melwyn Vaz (Karnatak SA)

Player of the tournament: Kasif Jamal (Central Railway)

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all the latest happenings in the world of Indian football.

OSCAR SSE to conduct trials for Youth I League and YPL team in the U13 category in Mumbai

Mumbai-based OSCAR SSE will conduct trials for their Youth I League and YPL team on 16th and 17th July 2022 at Wings Sports Centre ground. Oscar SSE is a 2-star…


ROQS to host trials for MFA Super Division

ROQS is revamping their squad for the upcoming season of the MFA Super Division. The team is organising trials for the men’s football team on Monday, 11th of July, 2022….


MSP Academy is holding trials for the upcoming MFA Youth League

MFA Super Division club Mumbai Soccer Prodigies will be conducting trials for their MFA Youth League campaign on 22nd May 2022 in Bandra, Mumbai. Founded in 2006, the Mumbai Soccer…


Football School of India to conduct Youth Trials

Mumbai-based Football School of India is going to conduct youth trials for its boys and girls squads. The trials will be conducted for players in the age group of under-13…


Bengaluru FC Elite Youth Football Trials

Bengaluru Football Club is a professional club that competes in the Indian Super League (ISL) and are past champions of the I-League and ISL. The club has launched its Soccer…


D’Souza Football Academy to conduct Youth Trials

Mumbai-based D’Souza Football Academy is going to conduct football scholarship trials for its youth squads. The trials will be conducted for players in the age group of under-7 to under-15….


Oscar SSE to conduct trials for Youth I-League in U13, U15&U18 category in Mumbai

OSCAR SSE, an AIFF Accredited Academy invites all  U13, U15 & U18  players from ALL SOCIO-ECONOMIC  backgrounds for football trials to join our Elite teams to train round the year…


Air India to conduct senior team trials for MFA Elite League on Monday

Mumbai-based Air India FC is set to conduct trials for their Senior Team to play the MFA Elite (Corporate) Division. One of the top-tier clubs from Mumbai – Air India…


Air India to hold youth team trials on Monday

Mumbai-based Air India FC is set to conduct trials for their Youth Team for the MFA Super (Corporate) Division. One of the top-tier clubs from Mumbai – Air India will…


Bhaichung Bhutia’s Residential Academy set to conduct trials in Mumbai

16th March, 2022: Bhaichung Bhutia Football Schools (BBFS) will conduct Residential Academy trials in Maharashtra for the academic year 2022-23.  In the next few months, the trials will be organized…