Mumbai to face Nagpur in the semis of Inter-District Men’s Championship

In the ongoing Inter-District Men’s Championship at Nashik, Mumbai District comfortably booked their place in the semis after defeating Yevatmal 4-0. Under the guidance of Henry Picardo and Farhan Butt, Mumbai is all set to face Nagpur in the last four on Saturday. 


Nagpur will be a tough test for Mumbai as they will be fired up after defeating the host 5-1 on Thursday evening. Mumbai must show dedication and will to fight if they wish to qualify for the final.

Mumbai (Sohail Khatri 2, Kamran Siddqui and Yamik Holkar) 4-0 Yevatmal

Yevatmal made a great start and caused serious problems to Mumbai. They also created several chances against a side which was yet to be tested so far defensively. But as the game progressed, Mumbai’s confidence started growing.

It was their top-scorer Sohail Khatri with a fantastic solo goal. The in-form strike doubled the lead just before the half-time and kept his side in the driver’s seat. Kamran Siddiqui and Yamik Holkar added one goal each and sealed the win for Mumbai.

Pune (Srikant Molangiri, Kevin Ghadge and Sahil Bhokre) 3-1 Aurangabad (Aryan Banerjee)

After going 1-0 down early in the match, Pune fought back brilliantly to qualify for the quarter-finals. Aryan Banerjee’s powerful strike from outside the box nestled into the net in the 18th minute. Captain Srikant levelled the score in the additional time for Pune after rounding off the goalkeeper.

Just a couple of minutes into the second-half, Kevin Ghadge gave Pune a 2-1 lead before Sahil Bhokre scored to secure a 3-1 win for Punekars.

Nagpur (Christopher Peter 2, Rohit Kanojia, Shorab Akhtar and Afzal Akhtar) 5-1 Nashik (Shubham Dayma)

The host bowed out of the Championship after losing 5-1 at the hands of Nagpur. Nashik kept their fighting spirit until the very last moment but Nagpur turned out to be very strong. Christopher Peter scored two goals while Rohit Kanojia, Shorab Akhtar and Afzal Akhtar got one each.

Kolhapur (Sanket Salokhe 2, Prathamesh Herekar 2 and Suraj Shinghote) 5-1 Dhule (Prashant More)

A resilient Dhule went down 5-1 against a strong Kolhapur side in an entertaining match. Kolhapur’s duo Sanket Salokhe and Prathamesh Herekar scored two goals each while Suraj Shinghote grabbed one goal. For Dhule, Prashant More scored the consolation goal.

Other results:

Osmananad (Sayyed Shazan) 1-0 Solapur

Amravati (Umesh, Firoz and Aman) 3-2 Gondia (Bhupendra and Akshay)