Independence Day Cup 2018: Preview

The 2018 edition of MDFA Independence Day Cup is set to go underway tomorrow at the iconic St. Xavier’s Ground, Parel. Just like every year, Independence Day Cup will be played on 14th and 15th August which will witness a total of 16 teams, 8 from MDFA Elite Division and rest 8 from MDFA Super Division.

We will be seeing a new champion as the holders Indian Navy are not participating in this edition. In the last two seasons, they have triumphed over Western Railway in the final which included an emphatic 5-1 win in the last season’s final.

The teams participating are (Elite Division) – Western Railway, Union Bank of India (UBI), Mumbai Strikers, Dena Bank, Millat FC, Central Railway, PIFA Colaba and Mumbai Customs. From Super Division, we have Sea View (FSI), Sellebrity FC, CFCI U-19, Century Rayon, Sunday Boys, Kenkre FC, HDFC, and GMSC.


After having one of their best seasons in the recent years, Elite Division side Union Bank of India (UBI) looks like a strong contender to lift the Independence Day Cup title. Last season, the Bankers also managed to finish as the runners-up in the RCF Nadkarni Cup where they went down fighting against the mighty Air India. Apart from doing well in the Nadkarni Cup, UBI finished 3rd in the MDFA Elite Divison, below eventual winners ONGC and runners-up Air India.

Besides UBI, Elite Division’s Western Railway has a strong chance as well. The Railways has historically done quite well in the Independence Day Cup and has been the finalist in all the last three editions, winning once and losing twice to Indian Navy. As for the underdogs, Mumbai Strikers, Millat FC, Central Railway, PIFA, and Mumbai Customs are definitely the ones to watch out for.

Below are the fixtures:

Pic Courtesy: MDFA

Pic Courtesy: MDFA

Oscar SSE to conduct trials for multiple age-groups in Mumbai

Mumbai based Oscar SSE will conduct trials for their youth teams on 17th April at the Karnatak Sports Association ground. Oscar SSE is a 2-star AIFF Accredited Academy plying their…


FC Hydra invites all aspiring footballers in Bengaluru for a Trial

FC Hydra will be holding trials for all the aspiring footballers for the upcoming KSFA C Division League. The club has previously held trials for the Women’s team for the…


Kenkre FC to conduct trials for Women’s Team

Mumbai-based Kenkre FC are slated to conduct trials for their Women’s Football Team on the 25th of February at Goan’s Sports Ground in Churchgate. Kenkre FC have long been regarded…


IKF to dispense free international football exposure for children in India

India Khelo Football (IKF) is a non-profit platform aimed at providing kids from India a fair chance to pursue their dream of playing football internationally. IKF shares its vision to…


IDBI Bank to hold trials for a central defender

After successfully conducting their first round of trials on 21st November, MDFA Super Division outfit are now looking to conduct another trial in search of Central Defenders. With football resuming,…


Chedda Nagar FC set to conduct trials for MDFA Super Division

Chedda Nagar Football Fanatics will be conducting trials to reform their MDFA Super Division squad. Being established in 2011, Chedda Nagar is a renowned name in Mumbai football. The team…


IDBI Bank to host trials for MDFA Super Division

With football resuming, IDBI Bank will be conducting trials for the upcoming MDFA Season. The team will participate in the Super Division and will be seen conducting their first round…


Madanpura FA, Sara FA to host trials for the upcoming MDFA season

Sara Football Academy and Madanpura FA to host trials for MDFA Super division & 2nd division and 3rd division respectively on the 19th and 21st of November simultaneously. Sara FA…


FC Hydra to hold trials for women footballers in Bengaluru

FC Hydra will be holding trials for women footballers for the upcoming BDFA A division Women’s league. The club is based out of Bengaluru. FC Hydra will be holding trials…


NLWS FC to hold trials for MDFA 3rd division

NLWS FC is club based in Dadar who have registered themselves in the MDFA 3rd division for the 2020-21 season. The club will be holding trials for the same. Mauli…