Hero Intercontinental Cup: MLS and Premier League players set to miss as New Zealand announce squad for India tour

All senior players of New Zealand plying their trade in Major League Soccer and Premier League are set to miss the Intercontinental Cup as All whites have announced a young and inexperienced squad.

Premier League

New Zealand’s Chris Wood last played for Burnley in the recently concluded 2017-18 season scoring 11 goals in 26 games

With no big tournament coming up until next two years for All White’s newly appointed Head Coach Fritz Schmid has named a young squad to contest in the upcoming Hero Intercontinental Cup to be played in Mumbai, from June 1-10.

The 23-man squad will compete against hosts India, Kenya and Chinese Taipei in the tournament. The coach believes that the tournament will be an excellent opportunity for New Zealand in rebuilding his team towards the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

Premier League striker and Burnley Forward Chris Wood is set to miss the trip along with players plying their trade in Major league Soccer(MLS) with the coach naming six uncapped players who could make their debut in India in the 23-man squad. Despite naming an inexperienced side, the team still boasts of numerous players who have are plying their trade in England playing for either reserve sides or U-23 sides of clubs.

All Whites squad for Intercontinental Cup (Club, Country, Caps, Goals)

Max Crocombe (Salford City, ENG) 1, 0
Michael Woud (Sunderland, ENG) 0, 0
Nik Tzanev (AFC Wimbledon, ENG 0, 0

Nikko Boxall (Viborg FF, DEN) 0, 0
Adam Mitchell (Bolton Wanderers, ENG) 1, 0
Sam Brotherton (Sunderland, ENG) 10, 0
Thomas Doyle (Wellington Phoenix) 9, 0
Dane Ingham (Brisbane Roar, AUS) 7, 0
Te Atawhai Hudson Wihongi (Onehunga Sports) 5, 0
Justin Gulley (Stop Out) 0, 0
Liberato Cacace (Wellington Phoenix) 0, 0

Matt Ridenton (Newcastle Jets, AUS) 3, 0
Sarpreet Singh (Wellington Phoenix) 1, 0
Henry Cameron (Limerick, IRL) 2, 0
Cameron Howieson (Three Kings United) 10, 0
Clayton Lewis (Scunthorpe United, ENG) 14, 0
Tim Payne (Eastern Suburbs) 15, 2
Alex Rufer (Wellington Phoenix) 5, 0
Andre De Jong (Hakoah, AUS) 1, 0
Moses Dyer (Manukau United) 10, 0
Jai Ingham (Melbourne Victory, AUS) 1, 0

Noah Billingsley (Santa Barbara University, USA) 0, 0
Myer Bevan (Husqvarna FF, SWE) 3, 1

Also Read: Tickets for Hero Intercontinental Cup available online

Click for everything about Hero Intercontinental Cup – Football Counter

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for more updated on Mumbai & Indian Football

Maurya Foundation to conduct trial for TDFA Senior Division League

Maurya Foundation has announced that they will be conducting trials for the upcoming Thane District football Association Senior Division league on 23rd & 24th November 2019. The trials will go underway…


Sportsfort Academy to host trials for age group 6-16

Mumbai based Sportsfort Academy to conduct trials for age groups category (U-6 to U-16) on 2nd and 3rd November.  Sportsfort Academy is a high excellence and premium academy aimed at…


MDFA Elite side Kenkre Football Club to host trials for 2019-20 Season

Kenkre Football Club will host their trials for the 2019-20 season on 22nd and 24th of October 2019. Over the years, Kenkre Football Club has become one of the top…


Wadoo Football School to organize football trials for girls for MDFA & WIFA Women’s League

Wadoo Football School of Excellence will organize their football trials for girls. The academy is owned by former Indian footballer, Mr Mehrajuddin Wadoo. The trial is scheduled for creating a…


Bank of India to conduct trials for upcoming season

MDFA Elite Division side Bank of India will be conducting trials for its upcoming 2019-20 season in Mumbai league football After suffering a disappointing campaign last season where the club finished…


Baroda Football Academy to conduct trials for womens team

Baroda Football Academy to conduct trials for their women’s team to participate in upcoming U17 Women’s league and Hero IWL Formed in the year 2008 BFA – Baroda Football Academy…


Samuel Football Academy to host trials for Women’s Football Team, IWL and MDFA

Samuel Football Academy(SFA) will be conducting their selection trials for their Women’s Football team, the Indian Womens League(IWL), and MDFA League. Mr. Daryl Samuel has been heading the team operations…


Spanish side Cadiz FC to host their 2nd edition trials in India

Once in a lifetime opportunity for budding footballers in the town. A professional Spanish football outfit – Cadiz FC is set to conduct their second edition trials in India. Selected…


Newly promoted Spartans Football Academy to hold trials

Navi Mumbai based Spartans Football academy will conducting open trials for its upcoming 2019-20 Super as well as Elite Division campaigns The club recently gained promotion from MDFA 1st division…


MDFA Super Division: Indian Culture League (ICL) to conduct trials

India Cultureal League (ICL) will be holding trials for their senior team which would take part in the Super Division of M.D.F.A League The team will be playing under the…