BPFL: Fleetfooters and Maryland cruises to last four

On Sunday, a total of three matches were contested at the St. Francis D’Assisi Ground, Borivali, in the third edition of the Borivali Premier Football League (BPFL). In what turned out to be a tense day at the park, all the three games ended in a stalemate. Fleetfooters and Maryland gained the most out of the results as they booked their place in the semi-finals after registering a draw against Ruthless and Myrmidons Sporting Club, respectively.

Group A: Fleetfooters (Keegan Pereira 13′) 1-1 Ruthless (Shubham Mane 12′)

In the first game, defending champions Fleetfooters had to settle for a point when they drew 1-1 against an energetic Ruthless side. With the likes of Keegan Pereira, Karan Amin, Dane Pereira, Tushar Poojary on the field, Fleetfooters were taken to the edge of the sword by Ruthless who went all-in to hunt for their second win of the campaign.

Shubham Mane and Keegan Pereira were amongst the goal-scorers on Sunday afternoon as Fleetfooters did just enough to book their berth in the semi-finals.

Group A: Maryland (Brendan D’Mello) 1-1 Myrmidons Sporting Club (Nihar Jadhav)

In the second game of the day, Myrmidons completely dominated the match proceedings but failed to capitalize on their chances as they conceded a late goal in a 1-1 draw against Maryland. With this result, Maryland, along with Fleetfooters, booked their place in the semi-final.

Souvardhan, Nihar Jadhav and Digvijay Yadav had a great game for Myrmidons. Their lethal combination up front kept on worrying Maryland’s backline. On the other end, Ashirwad, Brendon and Christopher dictated Maryland’s gameplay. It was in the second-half when Nihar Jadhav’s perfectly taken penalty gave Myrmidons a crucial lead. But in the dying stages of the match, Ashirwad’s sublime corner was headed home by Brendan D’Mello which secured a semi-final for Maryland.

Other results: (Group A) Friends United FC 0-0 Gorai FC