Mogaveera SC down hapless Jai Bharat to emerge champions of 21st Late Shri Ramanath Payyade MFLT

Champions Mogaveera SC proudly pose with the 21st Late Shri Ramanath Payyade Memorial Football Trophy along with Chief Guest Aditya Thackeray, Chairman MDFA and President Yuva Sena, presented the ‘Champions Trophy’, Dr. P.V. Shetty, President, KSA, Jaya Shetty, Jt. Hon. Secretary, KSA, Executive Committee Members KSA and other dignitaries.

Mumbai: Defending champions Mogaveera SC faced quite a stiff challenge but managed to beat Jai Bharat 7-6 (tie-breaker)  in a thrilling final of  21st Late Shri Ramanath Payyade Memorial Football League Tournament 2016 –2017, conducted by the Karnatak Sporting Association and played at the KSA ground, Cross Maidan. The final match went down all the way to the wire as spot kicks decided the outcome of the game.

In an evenly contested encounter, Mogaveera were looking as favourites as last time winners. On the other hands, their opponents, two-time runner-up Jai Bharat FC were looking to cause an upset. The game was down to penalty shootout as both sides failed to break the deadlock.

Mogaveera S.C. players held their nerves in the shootout and emerged victorious 7-6 on penalties with their striker Melroy Noronha scoring the winning penalty. Mogaveera S.C. thus successfully defended their title.

Penalty scorer for Mogaveera SC: Akshay Bandekar, Keivan D’silva, Hitesh Karkera, Prakyath Shetty, Praneel Mendon, Bloecher Mendes, Melroy Noronha.

For Jai Bharat: Ravi Rathod, Triptesh Mehta, Prashant Kamble, Ganesh Shetty, Rashid Shaikh, Rishik Shetty, Saumil Damor (Missed)

For the 3rd & 4th place match, Satya Vijaya SC went against Karnatak Amatures SC,  The game saw an end to end contest with both sides looking vulnerable at the back. The game finally headed for penalty shoot-out as both side were unable to break through opposition’s defense. It was Satya Vijaya S.C who  walked away with 3rd place finish after winning the penalty shootout 5-3.

For Satya Vijaya: Tushar Poojari, Tejash Poojari, Melwyn Castelino, Nishant Shetty, Ankit Chowta

For Karnatak Amatures SC: Nimesh Ragadwal, Ashish Gonsalves, Riddic Carlos

That’s it from the finale, for more updates on local football follow


Oscar SSE to conduct trials for multiple age-groups in Mumbai

Mumbai based Oscar SSE will conduct trials for their youth teams on 17th April at the Karnatak Sports Association ground. Oscar SSE is a 2-star AIFF Accredited Academy plying their…


FC Hydra invites all aspiring footballers in Bengaluru for a Trial

FC Hydra will be holding trials for all the aspiring footballers for the upcoming KSFA C Division League. The club has previously held trials for the Women’s team for the…


Kenkre FC to conduct trials for Women’s Team

Mumbai-based Kenkre FC are slated to conduct trials for their Women’s Football Team on the 25th of February at Goan’s Sports Ground in Churchgate. Kenkre FC have long been regarded…


IKF to dispense free international football exposure for children in India

India Khelo Football (IKF) is a non-profit platform aimed at providing kids from India a fair chance to pursue their dream of playing football internationally. IKF shares its vision to…


IDBI Bank to hold trials for a central defender

After successfully conducting their first round of trials on 21st November, MDFA Super Division outfit are now looking to conduct another trial in search of Central Defenders. With football resuming,…


Chedda Nagar FC set to conduct trials for MDFA Super Division

Chedda Nagar Football Fanatics will be conducting trials to reform their MDFA Super Division squad. Being established in 2011, Chedda Nagar is a renowned name in Mumbai football. The team…


IDBI Bank to host trials for MDFA Super Division

With football resuming, IDBI Bank will be conducting trials for the upcoming MDFA Season. The team will participate in the Super Division and will be seen conducting their first round…


Madanpura FA, Sara FA to host trials for the upcoming MDFA season

Sara Football Academy and Madanpura FA to host trials for MDFA Super division & 2nd division and 3rd division respectively on the 19th and 21st of November simultaneously. Sara FA…


FC Hydra to hold trials for women footballers in Bengaluru

FC Hydra will be holding trials for women footballers for the upcoming BDFA A division Women’s league. The club is based out of Bengaluru. FC Hydra will be holding trials…


NLWS FC to hold trials for MDFA 3rd division

NLWS FC is club based in Dadar who have registered themselves in the MDFA 3rd division for the 2020-21 season. The club will be holding trials for the same. Mauli…