Fleet Footers clinch the 2nd edition of Borivali Premier League

30th July 2017: In the final of the Borivali Premier League, renowned club Fleet Footers clinched the second edition after defeating Milan Club 4-2 via penalties as the match finished 1-1 in normal time at St. Francis D’Assisi Football Ground in Borivali.

Milan Club started off brightly right from the kick-off with their aggressive attacking approach. Captain Sunny Thakur led the team from the front with his superb quick feet and accelerating pace.

In the 22nd minute, Milan Club finally broke the deadlock when Sunny Thakur pounced on a goalkeeping error to finish from his left foot to give Milan Club a vital lead. Minutes later, Fleet Footers’ Karan Amin saw the marching orders when he was sent-off after receiving two yellow cards.

Milan Club went into the break with a solitary lead. In the second-half, things started to flow in Fleet Footers’ way. Despite trailing 1-0 and playing with 10 men, Fleet Footers started to take control of the match proceedings and went on to dominate the majority of the second-half.

Star player Keegan Pereira and Grenville almost equalized for Fleet Footers but somehow Milan Club’s defense kept them at bay.

The high pressure inflicted by Fleet Footers finally gave them the opportunity they needed the most. Midway into the second-half, a low cross from Agnelo Picardo went on to hit Milan Club’s defender Aashish Chavan’s hand, the referee quickly reacted and awarded the penalty to Fleet Footers.

Umesh Perambara stepped up and comprehensively sent the goalkeeper in the wrong direction to level the score. With the normal time coming to an end, both the sides cooled down the intensity of the match to let the final conclude through the penalties.

Out of the first three penalties, Milan Club only managed to convert once while Fleet Footers converted all the penalties through Umesh, Grenville and Franco.

Leaving it to the deciding penalty, Keegan Pereira stepped and brilliantly struck the penalty into the back of the net to win it for the Flooters in front of a huge crowd.

Individual Awards:

Goalkeeper – Karthik Puthran (Maryland United)

Defender – Nachiket Palav (Milan Club)

Emerging Player – Yash Trimbakkar (Milan Club)

FairPlay – Maryland United

Top Scorer – Keegan Pereira (Fleet Footers)

Player of the Tournament – Sunny Thakur (Milan Club)

Aditi Shetty, Naomi and Valencia were also felicitated in the Borivali Premier League for their contribution to Women’s Football in Mumbai.