Orange rule the roost as Gupta breaks Thane hearts

What a finish to the quarterfinals of the 2019 WIFA Inter-District Championship Sub-Junior Boys. Nagpur rose to the occasion as they dumped out in-form Thane. Stand-in goalkeeper Nitin Gupta saved a late spot-kick to send Thane tumbling.

The 2019 WIFA Inter-District Championship Sub-Junior Boys is hosted by the Western India Football Federation (WIFA) and Jalgaon District Football Association (JDFA).

Pinch Jeera Masala, Stamina Apple Fizzy Fruit Drink, Mahaveer Classes, Jain Irrigation Systems Pvt. Ltd, WIFA, Jain Sports Academy, Meera Cola and Pride are the major sponsors.

Mumbai obliterated Palghar in the first quarterfinal. Mohammed Kaif Ansari scored a double hat-trick. Punit Singh, Yohana Martin, Mohammed Jaffer Mansoori and Ryan Lobo were the other goal scorers.

Mumbai – 10 (Mohd. Kaif Ansari (5’, 21’, 24’, 34’, 53’, 59’), Punit Singh (17’), Yohana Martin (18’), Mohd. Jaffer Mansoori (40’), Ryan Lobo (56’) beat Palghar – 0

Kolhapur beat Amravati 8-0 in the second game. The trio of Prashant Salawade, Gandharva Chavan and Sanket Medhe starred in another goal riot. Salawade grabbed a hat-trick while Medhe hit four goals. Chavan wrapped it up with a fine effort in the dying minutes.

Kolhapur – 8 (Prashant Salawade (2’, 18’, 19’), Sanket Medhe (4’, 24’, 31’, 44’), Gandharva Chavan (52’) beat Amravati – 0

Pune and Ahmednagar battled it out in the third game. Goals from Vinit Chauhan and Tushar Durga won it for Pune. The game was a test of mettle and character as both teams went toe to toe.

Pune – 2 (Vinit Chauhan (13’), Tushar Durga (58’)) beat Ahmednagar – 0

The best was reserved for the last as Nagpur beat Thane in a cliffhanger. The game had drama dime-a-dozen! Utkarsh Mankar scored in the 14th minute for Nagpur. What a goal it was… a fine solo effort! It was his fifth goal in two games. Thane just couldn’t break past a wall of Orange shirts. And as Manav Sharma’s shot whistled past the post in the second-half…Thane knew that it just wasn’t their day! Stand-in goalkeeper Nitin Gupta parried away Thane’s spot-kick in the dying minutes to end their misery. As Nagpur celebrated…Thane had thrown away a lifeline!

Nagpur – 1 (Utkarsh Mankar (14’)) beat Thane – 0

Key stats:

1) 25 games have been played so far (including the quarterfinals).
2) 106 goals have been scored so far.
3) Utkarsh Mankar’s goal was the 106th goal of the tournament (till the end of the quarterfinals).
4) Sanket Medhe (9), Prashant Salawade (5) and Gandharva Chavan (5) have scored 19 of Kolhapur’s 25 goals in the tournament so far!

If the quarterfinals had us on the edge of our seats here’s hoping that the semi-finals would also run on the same theme. The football caravan marches on.

Maurya Foundation to conduct trial for TDFA Senior Division League

Maurya Foundation has announced that they will be conducting trials for the upcoming Thane District football Association Senior Division league on 23rd & 24th November 2019. The trials will go underway…


Sportsfort Academy to host trials for age group 6-16

Mumbai based Sportsfort Academy to conduct trials for age groups category (U-6 to U-16) on 2nd and 3rd November.  Sportsfort Academy is a high excellence and premium academy aimed at…


MDFA Elite side Kenkre Football Club to host trials for 2019-20 Season

Kenkre Football Club will host their trials for the 2019-20 season on 22nd and 24th of October 2019. Over the years, Kenkre Football Club has become one of the top…


Wadoo Football School to organize football trials for girls for MDFA & WIFA Women’s League

Wadoo Football School of Excellence will organize their football trials for girls. The academy is owned by former Indian footballer, Mr Mehrajuddin Wadoo. The trial is scheduled for creating a…


Bank of India to conduct trials for upcoming season

MDFA Elite Division side Bank of India will be conducting trials for its upcoming 2019-20 season in Mumbai league football After suffering a disappointing campaign last season where the club finished…


Baroda Football Academy to conduct trials for womens team

Baroda Football Academy to conduct trials for their women’s team to participate in upcoming U17 Women’s league and Hero IWL Formed in the year 2008 BFA – Baroda Football Academy…


Samuel Football Academy to host trials for Women’s Football Team, IWL and MDFA

Samuel Football Academy(SFA) will be conducting their selection trials for their Women’s Football team, the Indian Womens League(IWL), and MDFA League. Mr. Daryl Samuel has been heading the team operations…


Spanish side Cadiz FC to host their 2nd edition trials in India

Once in a lifetime opportunity for budding footballers in the town. A professional Spanish football outfit – Cadiz FC is set to conduct their second edition trials in India. Selected…


Newly promoted Spartans Football Academy to hold trials

Navi Mumbai based Spartans Football academy will conducting open trials for its upcoming 2019-20 Super as well as Elite Division campaigns The club recently gained promotion from MDFA 1st division…


MDFA Super Division: Indian Culture League (ICL) to conduct trials

India Cultureal League (ICL) will be holding trials for their senior team which would take part in the Super Division of M.D.F.A League The team will be playing under the…