Borivali Premier League: Fleet Footers FC clinch hat-trick of titles

For the third time in the last three seasons, Fleet Footers FC outclassed Milan Club in the final of Borivali Premier League to make it hat-trick of title

For the third time in the last three seasons, Fleet Footers FC outclassed Milan Club in the final of Borivali Premier League to make it hat-trick of titles

Three in a Row!!! Defending champions Fleet Footers FC managed to retain their title once again as Milan Club fail to break their final jinx. Meanwhile Tiger Sports break Maryland United’s streak to finish 3rd in this 4th edition of Borivali Premier League.

The first game of the final day of BPFL was 3rd place play-off game played between Maryland United and Tiger Sports. Two time 3rd place play-off winner Maryland United started off brightly, taking the lead through Brabourne Rodrigues strike. However, Tiger Sports were back in to the game few minutes before half time when Jayesh Naik converted his chances to put things back on level terms. Midway through the second half, Jayesh Naik converted his brace as Tiger Sports took a goal lead. The game ended at 2-1 score line in favour of Tiger Sports as they clinched the third place trophy ending Maryland United streak.

One of the most awaited encounters of the tournament was the tournament finale, where the two sides facing each other shared some history. Both Milan Club and defending Champions Fleet Footers FC have been facing each other in the final for the last three years. On both the previous two encounters, it was Fleet Footers FC that emerged champions. Unlike Tiger Sports in the earlier game, Milan failed to break Fleet Footers title streak as the latter completed its hat-trick of title.

In the final encounter, Fleet Footers started the game in a dominating fashion, getting off the blocks in search of goals right away. They were soon rewarded with a goal when Johnson Mathew tapped in a ball from close range to make it 1-0 for defending champions. Dhawal Waghela and skipper Dane Pereira soon tripled the lead as Fleet footers entered the break with 3-0 scoreline. In the second half, Dhawal Waghela completed his brace to take the scoreline 4-0. The game ended at 4-0 scoreline with Fleet Footers lifting their third BPFL title in three years.

Best Goalkeeper: Yash (Milan Club)

Best Defender: Noel Dias (Fleet Footer FC)

Best Striker: Calvin (Maryland United)

Player of the tournament: Sunny Thakur (Milan Club)

Top Score of the league: Pereira (Fleet Footer FC)

Fair play award: ND2 Soccerstarz

For fixtures and news updates on Borivali Premier League: Click here

Feature Read: Why this would be the right time to bring back ‘Rovers Cup’
Also Read: Players laud BPFL, call it perfect pre-season tournament for Mumbai football

Football Counter would love to hear your thoughts or feedback on your experience: Feedback on Football Counter experience
For Trial related updates: Latest trials updates in Mumbai Football

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for all the latest happenings in the world of Indian football