Independence Day Cup to kick-off tomorrow

The 2019 edition of MDFA Independence Day Cup is set to go underway tomorrow 14th August with the final rounds to be played on August 15th at the St. Xavier’s Ground, Parel.

Tomorrow, a dawn is set to embark when the season’s curtain raiser Independence Day Cup will go underway at St. Xavier’s Ground, Parel.

Like the previous editions, eight teams each from MDFA (Mumbai District Football Association) Super Division and Elite Division will contest with each other in what will be a knockout Tournament.

Looking at the past editions, either Western Railways or Indian Navy has emerged as the winners of Independence Day Cup. Their superiority over the years has made them a strong contender for the upcoming showdown without any doubt.

Elite Division side Indian Navy is the defending champions as they triumphed in the previous edition when they defeated Western Railways 6-5 on penalties to lift the trophy.

Other than the Railway’s and Navy sides, Air India is looking promising ahead of the Tournament. They have been synonyms to Mumbai Football like no other sides from the top division in the past years.

Also Read: The other side of Indian football

On the other hand, underdogs like Mumbai Customs, Union Bank of India and Central Bank of India will have an opportunity to prove themselves against the top teams of Mumbai.


  1. Mumbai Customs vs Sellebrity FC
  2. Central Bank of India vs Kenkre FC
  3. Century Rayon vs Young Boys
  4. Millat FC vs Indian Navy
  5. Western Railways vs Mumbai Muslims
  6. Dena Bank vs Union Bank of India
  7. Mumbai Strikers vs KSA
  8. HDFC vs Air India.

The matches will be played on 14th and 15th August 2017 at St. Xavier’s Ground, Parel. The opening match will be between Mumbai Customs and Sellebrity FC at 07:00 am.

MDFA to host trials for WIFA Inter District Men’s Open Football Championship

The Mumbai District Football Association (MDFA), the governing body for football in Mumbai district is set to host their coaching camps and selection trials for the WIFA Inter District Men’s…


Trials for Inter-District Football Championship to be held on 21st December

The Mumbai District Football Association (MDFA) will hold trials for the Girls-Inter District Football Championship to be held in Palghar in January 2020 Interested players must be at the venue…


MDFA Super Division side India Culture league to conduct trials

India Culture League (ICL) will be holding trials for their senior team which would be participating in MDFA Super Division The team will be playing under the guidance of Coach Mr….


Mumbai Ultras FC to conduct open trials

Mumbai Ultras FC, who will feature in the MDFA Super Division, will be conducting try-outs for city footballers this Thursday Footballers from the city and its suburbs have an opportunity to showcase…


Maurya Foundation to conduct trial for TDFA Senior Division League

Maurya Foundation has announced that they will be conducting trials for the upcoming Thane District football Association Senior Division league on 23rd & 24th November 2019. The trials will go underway…


Sportsfort Academy to host trials for age group 6-16

Mumbai based Sportsfort Academy to conduct trials for age groups category (U-6 to U-16) on 2nd and 3rd November.  Sportsfort Academy is a high excellence and premium academy aimed at…


MDFA Elite side Kenkre Football Club to host trials for 2019-20 Season

Kenkre Football Club will host their trials for the 2019-20 season on 22nd and 24th of October 2019. Over the years, Kenkre Football Club has become one of the top…


Wadoo Football School to organize football trials for girls for MDFA & WIFA Women’s League

Wadoo Football School of Excellence will organize their football trials for girls. The academy is owned by former Indian footballer, Mr Mehrajuddin Wadoo. The trial is scheduled for creating a…


Bank of India to conduct trials for upcoming season

MDFA Elite Division side Bank of India will be conducting trials for its upcoming 2019-20 season in Mumbai league football After suffering a disappointing campaign last season where the club finished…


Baroda Football Academy to conduct trials for womens team

Baroda Football Academy to conduct trials for their women’s team to participate in upcoming U17 Women’s league and Hero IWL Formed in the year 2008 BFA – Baroda Football Academy…