‘First Ever’ MDFA Awards Night adds cherry on top of the cake after a successful 2016-17 season

Vijith Shetty of Air India receives the ‘Best Midfielder’ award in the men’s Elite Division League from Bollywood superstar Akshay Kumar and MDFA Chairman, Aditya Thakeray in the presence of Bruno Coutinho, a former India football captain and Suzanne Chowdhry at the MDFA Awards Night 2016-17.

Mumbai Football witnessed another chapter in its history as Cooperage ground hosted the first ever MDFA Awards Night. A ceremony organised by Mumbai District Football Association (MDFA) to felicitate all the winners and runner-ups. This was the first ever edition and we hope it continues season-after-season. A crucial step was taken by the MDFA to acknowledge the talent in the city. An important factor of motivation which will spice up the next season.

MDFA Awards Night 2016-17 was graced by the presence of Bollywood superstar Akshay Kumar, former India captain Bruno Coutinho and a host of dignitaries at the Cooperage Football Stadium.

The other prominent personalities present at the function included, MDFA Chairman, Aditya Thackeray, two-time Olympian goalkeeper S.S. Narayan, Jaffer Bhai, Proprietor Delhi Darbar, Sunil Kapoor, Chairman & MD, Blue Sea Banquets, Suzanne Chowdhry, a football enthusiast and Souter Vaz, Hon. Secretary, WIFA to name a few. There were also a large number of Indian stars, both men and women. In case you missed the awards night, here is the list of all the winners and runner-ups that were felicitated.

Elite Division

Best Forward: Pratik Koli (Air India)

Best Midfielders: Vijith Shetty (Air India)

Best Defenders: Dion Menezes (Union Bank)

Best Goalkeepers: Ubaid C.K. (ONGC)

Fairplay Trophy: Mumbai Customs.

Super Division:

Best Forward: Akshay Devadiga (Mumbai Strikers)

Best Midfielders: Advait Shinde (Air india)

Best Defenders: Yash Vanveru (Air india)

Best Goalkeepers: Ubaid Ali (Mumbai FC)

Fairplay Trophy: D’Assisi SC.

First Division:

Best Forward: Kartik Bele (ESIC)

Best Midfielders: Harshil Somaiya (Sea view)

Best Defenders: Swapnil Mhatre (St. Paul’s)

Best Goalkeepers: Supratin Bhattacharya (Mumbai Port Trust)

Fairplay Trophy: Chedda Nagar Fanatics

Second Division:

Best Forward: Ajinkya Umalare (Tarun Sporting)

Best Midfielders: Viraj Shetty (Mumbai United)

Best Defenders: Calvin D’Souza (Xavier’s Boys)

Best Goalkeepers: Zulfikar Laskar (Tarun Sporting)

Fairplay Trophy: Sterkem Pharma

Third Division:

Best Forward: Vinoy Belose (Maurya FA)

Best Midfielders: Calvin Pereira (Castle Boys),

Best Defenders: Abel Fernandes (Mumbai Rush)

Best Goalkeepers: Sherwin Sooren (O’Sheish FA).

Fairplay Trophy: IFS Cooperage.



Best Forward: Renee Talati (Kenkre FC)

Best Midfielders: Abeer Arsiwala (Sparks FC)

Best Defenders: Laura Estibeiro (Football leaders)

Best Goalkeepers: Babitha Nadar (Companeroes SC)

Fairplay Trophy: Oscar Foundation.

In case you are wondering where the names of the champion teams, runner-ups are and third placed teams, here is another full list.

The winners of the different divisions:

Third Division: 3rd place – SRS Sporting SC;Runners-up – ESIC; Champions – JMJ (Jesus Mary Joseph) FC.

Second Division: 3rd place – Colaba FA; Runners-up – Rahul Mitra Mandal; Champions – Tarun Sporting FC.

First Division: 3rd place – St. Paul’s SC ‘B’ ;Runners-up – ESIC; Champions – JMJ (Jesus Mary Joseph) FC.

Women’s League: 3rd place – Companeroes SC;Runners-up – Bodyline FC; Champions – Football Leaders Academy.

Elite Division: 3rd place – Maharashtra State Police SC; Runners-up – ONGC; Champions – Air India SC.

Call it the Oscars of Mumbai Football or the Film fare Awards of Mumbai Football, we all can agree on the fact that this is a crucial step for the football in our city. The participation levels are expected to rise. Fierce competition is always a treat for any sport. Once again we at football counter thank everyone for their continued support. We salute the work done by MDFA and in particular Mr Aditya Thackeray for the much-needed development and contribution so far. The leadership is in the right hands, a youth leader whose vision is crystal clear and the support for him is immense. Mumbai Football Arena is just the beginning. We hope the sport becomes more popular in the coming years. As we can proudly say that in the end, the ULTIMATE WINNER is ‘FOOTBALL’.