Virar Camp wins the 29th Bipin Memorial Title

Virar Camp won 29th Bipin Memorial Football Tournament

Virar camp won the 29th Bipin Memorial Title after a thrilling 3-2 win over Churchgate camp in the Final held at the MSSA Ground in South Mumbai on Sunday 21st December 2015. Virar were crowned Champions of one of Mumbai’s oldest football competition at the grassroot level. Some great names in the Indian game like Steven Dias have grown into prominence through this tournament which has a special place in Mumbai’s footballing world.

In this showpiece final, it was Churchgate who took an early lead through Sonu Tamang whose corner kick went straight into the goal as the Virar goalkeeper failed to read the trajectory of Tamang’s kick.

However, Virar’s Ashish Khaire brought his team on level terms in the 13th minute, when he reproduced Tamang’s heroics at the other end and send a corner kick in directly.

With the game brilliantly poised, Virar’s Vishnu Menon produced a moment of brilliance as his great individual run opened up the Churchgate defence, allowing Menon to set up Ashish Kaire to put Virar in front for the first time in the game.

Churchgate who were stunned by the Virar fightback responded well and seized control of the ball. Churchgate midfielders, Manan Dang and Surendra Lamatman were trying to inspire a Churchgate comeback by dictating the play for Churchgate, but a well organised Virar side managed to protect the lead.

But post the half hour mark, Mitesh Tandel struck a superb free kick for Churchgate which nestled into the back of the net to pull them level again at 2-2.

When it seemed that Churchgate had the momentum to clinch the victory, Virar once again showed their quality upfront as Shubham Nikam stole the winner for Virar after he was set-up by a breathtaking run from Leander Gonsalves who brilliantly dribbled past the Churchgate defender on the left flank to set Nikam for a tap in.

Virar held on for the victory, which crowned them the Champions of the prestigious 29th Bipin Memorial Football Tournament.

Virar’s hero in the Final Ashish Khaire was adjudged the Best Player of the Tournament.

Mitesh Tandel was the best player from the Churchgate camp, while Kartik Chauhan was the best from the Colaba camp. Kandivali Camp’s best player award went to John Mathew, Kalyan’s best was Amit Singh. Rishabh Gupta was Mulund Camp’s pick of the players while Virar’s best player was Vishnu Menon.

Steven Dias recalled his time playing in this prestigious tournament and wished all the kids best for their futures. “I also started my carrier at the Bipin Memorial Football Tournament, so being invited as a chief guest gives me great pleasure. I wish the young players all the best,” added Dias as he spoke after the Final of the Bipin Memorial Football Tournament on Sunday.

The Final was also graced by some other esteemed guests from Mumbai’s football fraternity which included Mr. Uday Mukherjee from the Mumbai District Football Association, Harish Rao, the ex-Mahindra United Coach and WIFA Assistant Secretary Wali Mohammed.

Chedda Nagar FC set to conduct trials for MDFA Super Division

Chedda Nagar Football Fanatics will be conducting trials to reform their MDFA Super Division squad. Being established in 2011, Chedda Nagar is a renowned name in Mumbai football. The team…


IDBI Bank to host trials for MDFA Super Division

With football resuming, IDBI Bank will be conducting trials for the upcoming MDFA Season. The team will participate in the Super Division and will be seen conducting their first round…


Madanpura FA, Sara FA to host trials for the upcoming MDFA season

Sara Football Academy and Madanpura FA to host trials for MDFA Super division & 2nd division and 3rd division respectively on the 19th and 21st of November simultaneously. Sara FA…


FC Hydra to hold trials for women footballers in Bengaluru

FC Hydra will be holding trials for women footballers for the upcoming BDFA A division Women’s league. The club is based out of Bengaluru. FC Hydra will be holding trials…


NLWS FC to hold trials for MDFA 3rd division

NLWS FC is club based in Dadar who have registered themselves in the MDFA 3rd division for the 2020-21 season. The club will be holding trials for the same. Mauli…


The Oranje FC to host trials for MDFA Elite Division

The Oranje FC will be hosting trials for the upcoming MDFA 2020-21 season this November. The club will be participating in the MDFA Elite division this season. Established in 2017,…


Sporting Options FC to hold trials for MDFA 2nd Division

Sporting Options Football Club will be hosting trials for the upcoming 2020-21 football season. The team is currently playing in the MDFA 2nd division. Sporting Options FC was established in…


MDFA 1st Division side Madanpura Sports Club soon to host trials

With football gradually returning, Mumbai based Madanpura Sports Club are slated to conduct trials for the upcoming season. Madanpura Sports Club is the Junior team of Bombay Muslims SC, who…


Feugo Tormento FC to host trials for MDFA 1st Division

Newly promoted Feugo Tormento FC are set to revamp their squad for the 2020-21 MDFA 1st Division tournament. After a rampant past season, Feugo Tormento was promoted to the 1st…


Regal FC trials postponed to April

Mumbai based MDFA 3rd Division side Regal FC has postponed their upcoming trials to a new tentative date in April, amidst the Corona Virus outbreak Regal football Club had earlier announced…