Kapadia Nagar FC win Super Division of the Premiership Football League

Kapadia Nagar FC were crowned the champions of the Super Division of the Premiership Football League at the Palava Titans Turf in Palava in Thane district. Kapadia Nagar beat Mumbra FC 3-2 in the final with a late winner deep into extra time to clinch the title.

Mumbra FC started the game well as KNFC looked shaky early on in the game. But KNFC survived the early attacks and slowly found their feet as the game progressed.

KNFC grew into the game as the first half drew to its close and were rewarded just one minute before the interval from a corner which was aptly put away by forward Rishikesh who made sure his team go into the break with a 1-0 lead.

But Mumbra FC came back strongly in the second half and restored parity instantly through Faizal who capped off a good Mumbra move with a neat finish.

But Mumbra’s joy didn’t last long as KNFC regained the lead in the 48th minute through forward Abhay in the 48th minute.

But Mumbra FC didn’t throw in the towel and equalized again five minutes later as Tabish scored for the Mumbra side who once again pegged back KNFC.

As the final whistle neared both teams didn’t look to give much away and the game ended all square at 2-2 full time, which meant the game headed into twenty minutes of extra time.

The game remained cagey in the first half of extra time as well with KNFC bossing possession. KNFC worked the Mumbra goalkeeper Qadeer but he was upto his task. The ex-Indian goalkeeper was solid in the goal and denied KNFC the lead with some fantastic saves.

Just when it seemed both teams had settled for the penalty shootout, forward Abhay found space in the box and fired his shot in the back of the net to win it for KNFC in the final minute of extra time.

After months of efforts, Kapadia Nagar FC finally got their hands on the coveted trophy and were worthy winners keeping in mind their desire to go the distance in matches, which they portrayed again in the Final.